Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Biblio Smiles
When You're Here, We'll Make a Book Nerd Out of You
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Death & Grief   Suicide

Far and Away: How Travel Can Change the World


Blowout Sale! Save 66% on the Far and Away: How Travel Can Change the World by SCRIBNER at Biblio Smiles. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. From the winner of the National Book Award and the National Books Critics’ Circle Award—and one of the most original thinkers of our


Product Description

From the winner of the National Book Award and the National Books Critics’ Circle Award—and one of the most original thinkers of our time—“Andrew Solomon’s magisterial Far and Away collects a quarter-century of soul-shaking essays” (Vanity Fair).

Far and Away chronicles Andrew Solomon’s writings about places undergoing seismic shifts—political, cultural, and spiritual. From his stint on the barricades in Moscow in 1991, when he joined artists in resisting the coup whose failure ended the Soviet Union, his 2002 account of the rebirth of culture in Afghanistan following the fall of the Taliban, his insightful appraisal of a Myanmar seeped in contradictions as it slowly, fitfully pushes toward freedom, and many other stories of profound upheaval, this book provides a unique window onto the very idea of social change. With his signature brilliance and compassion, Solomon demonstrates both how history is altered by individuals, and how personal identities are altered when governments alter.

A journalist and essayist of remarkable perception and prescience, Solomon captures the essence of these cultures. Ranging across seven continents and twenty-five years, these “meaty dispatches…are brilliant geopolitical travelogues that also comprise a very personal and reflective resume of the National Book Award winner’s globe-trotting adventures” (Elle). Far and Away takes a magnificent journey into the heart of extraordinarily diverse experiences: “You will not only know the world better after having seen it through Solomon’s eyes, you will also care about it more” (Elizabeth Gilbert).

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Scribner
Brand:SCRIBNER
Publisher:Scribner
Studio:Scribner
EAN:9781476795058
Item Weight:0 pounds
Item Size:1.2 x 9 x 9 inches
Package Weight:1.5 pounds
Package Size:6.14 x 1.73 x 1.73 inches

Far and Away: How Travel Can Change the World by SCRIBNER

Buy Now:
Far and Away: How Travel Can Change the World

Brand: SCRIBNER
4.5 out of 5 stars with 56 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$20.00
$6.97
You Save: 65%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Suicide.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by SCRIBNER, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By Scribner
ean: 9781501181535, isbn: 150118153X,
An instant bestseller in the UK, Grief Works is a profoundly optimistic and compassionate handbook for anyone suffering a loss—from the expected death of a parent to the sudden death of a child or spouse—as well as a guide for those who want to h...

By Hachette Books
ean: 9781602866072, isbn: 1602866074,
The revelatory inside story of the trial and final days of New England Patriots superstar Aaron Hernandez, by his attorney and New York Times bestselling author Jose Baez.When renowned defense attorney Jose Baez received a request for representation ...

By Vintage
mpn: FBA-|283740, ean: 9781400096428, isbn: 1400096421,
Fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Running with Scissors and  Girl, Interrupted will be entranced by this remarkable true story of teenage despair and recoveryIn 1991, fourteen-year-old Brent Runyon came home from school, doused his bathrobe in gasoline...

By New Harbinger
ean: 9781626253827, isbn: 162625382X,
In Mindfulness for Teen Depression, two teen experts offer powerful tools based in mindfulness and positive psychology to help you ease symptoms, work through troubling thoughts and feelings, and thrive in all aspects of life. If you’re a teen with...

By The Overlook Press
ean: 9781468313697, isbn: 146831369X,
The first complete edition of the art of Charlotte Salomon, published for the 100 year anniversary of her birth“Perhaps the greatest book of the twentieth century . . . a kind of counterpoint to The Diary of Anne Frank. As a work of visual art, it ...

By Joiner, Thomas
mpn: 9780674025493, ean: 9780674025493, isbn: 0674025490,
In the wake of a suicide, the most troubling questions are invariably the most difficult to answer: How could we have known? What could we have done? And always, unremittingly: Why? Written by a clinical psychologist whose own life has been touched b...

By Taylor Francis
ean: 9781462532056, isbn: 1462532055,
Filling a tremendous need, this highly practical book adapts the proven techniques of dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) to treatment of multiproblem adolescents at highest risk for suicidal behavior and self-injury. The authors are master clinicians...

By Chronicle Books
mpn: FBA-|283987, ean: 9780811834438, isbn: 0811834433,
Angel Catcher for Kids offers a healthy way for a child to cope with the painful and often confusing process of grieving. Designed to help a child overcome the loss of a loved one, this journal also invites the child to record precious memories of th...

By Harper
ean: 9780062391223, isbn: 0062391224,
"A book for any of us, gay or straight, who have had to find our family. Maupin is one of America’s finest storytellers."—Neil Gaiman"I fell in love with Maupin’s effervescent Tales of the City decades ago, and his genius turn at memoir is no l...

By Anchor
ean: 9780385489843, isbn: 0385489846,
In this haunting and riveting firsthand account, a survivor of Jim Jones's Peoples Temple opens up the shadowy world of cults and shows how anyone can fall under their spell. A high-level member of Jim Jones's Peoples Temple for seven years, Deborah ...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - bibliosmiles.com. All Rights Reserved.