Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Biblio Smiles
When You're Here, We'll Make a Book Nerd Out of You
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Death & Grief   Suicide

A Thousand Lives: The Untold Story of Jonestown


Extreame Savings Item! Save 42% on the A Thousand Lives: The Untold Story of Jonestown by Brand: Free Press at Biblio Smiles. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. “A gripping account of how decent people can be taken in by a charismatic and crazed tyrant” (The New York Times Book Review).In 1954, a past or


Product Description

“A gripping account of how decent people can be taken in by a charismatic and crazed tyrant” (The New York Times Book Review).

In 1954, a past or named Jim Jones opened a church in Indianapolis called Peoples Temple Full Gospel Church. He was a charismatic preacher with idealistic beliefs, and he quickly filled his pews with an audience eager to hear his sermons on social justice. As Jones’s behavior became erratic and his message more ominous, his followers leaned on each other to recapture the sense of equality that had drawn them to his church. But even as the congregation thrived, Jones made it increasingly difficult for members to leave. By the time Jones moved his congregation to a remote jungle in Guyana and the U.S. government began to investigate allegations of abuse and false imprisonment in Jonestown, it was too late.

A Thousand Lives is the story of Jonestown as it has never been told. New York Times bestselling author Julia Scheeres drew from tens of thousands of recently declassified FBI documents and audiotapes, as well as rare videos and interviews, to piece together an unprecedented and compelling history of the doomed camp, focusing on the people who lived there.

The people who built Jonestown wanted to forge a better life for themselves and their children. In South America, however, they found themselves trapped in Jonestown and cut off from the outside world as their leader goaded them toward committing “revolutionary suicide” and deprived them of food, sleep, and hope. Vividly written and impossible to forget, A Thousand Lives is a story of blind loyalty and daring escapes, of corrupted ideals and senseless, haunting loss.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Free Press
Brand:Brand: Free Press
Publisher:Free Press
Studio:Free Press
EAN:9781416596400
Item Weight:0.65 pounds
Item Size:0.8 x 8.37 x 8.37 inches
Package Weight:0.66 pounds
Package Size:5.51 x 0.94 x 0.94 inches

A Thousand Lives: The Untold Story of Jonestown by Brand: Free Press

Buy Now:
A Thousand Lives: The Untold Story of Jonestown

Brand: Brand: Free Press
4.9 out of 5 stars with 48 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$17.00
$9.97
You Save: 41%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Suicide.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Brand: Free Press, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By FaithWords
ean: 9781546012344, isbn: 1546012346,
Mandy Hale, the creator of The Single Woman, the social media movement that rewrote the rulebook about singleness, challenges every woman to see that she is sufficient, acceptable, and complete.After years of trying to prove she was enough in the wor...

By Soyinka, Wole
mpn: 9780393322996, ean: 9780393322996, isbn: 9780393322996,
A Nobel Prize-winning playwright's classic tale of tragic decisions in a traditional African culture. Based on events that took place in Oyo, an ancient Yoruba city of Nigeria, in 1946, Wole Soyinka's powerful play concerns the intertwined lives of E...

By SCRIBNER
ean: 9781476795058, isbn: 1476795053,
From the winner of the National Book Award and the National Books Critics’ Circle Award—and one of the most original thinkers of our time—“Andrew Solomon’s magisterial Far and Away collects a quarter-century of soul-shaking essays” (Vanit...

By Scribner
ean: 9781501181535, isbn: 150118153X,
An instant bestseller in the UK, Grief Works is a profoundly optimistic and compassionate handbook for anyone suffering a loss—from the expected death of a parent to the sudden death of a child or spouse—as well as a guide for those who want to h...

By Hachette Books
ean: 9781602866072, isbn: 1602866074,
The revelatory inside story of the trial and final days of New England Patriots superstar Aaron Hernandez, by his attorney and New York Times bestselling author Jose Baez.When renowned defense attorney Jose Baez received a request for representation ...

By Vintage
mpn: FBA-|283740, ean: 9781400096428, isbn: 1400096421,
Fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Running with Scissors and  Girl, Interrupted will be entranced by this remarkable true story of teenage despair and recoveryIn 1991, fourteen-year-old Brent Runyon came home from school, doused his bathrobe in gasoline...

By New Harbinger
ean: 9781626253827, isbn: 162625382X,
In Mindfulness for Teen Depression, two teen experts offer powerful tools based in mindfulness and positive psychology to help you ease symptoms, work through troubling thoughts and feelings, and thrive in all aspects of life. If you’re a teen with...

By The Overlook Press
ean: 9781468313697, isbn: 146831369X,
The first complete edition of the art of Charlotte Salomon, published for the 100 year anniversary of her birth“Perhaps the greatest book of the twentieth century . . . a kind of counterpoint to The Diary of Anne Frank. As a work of visual art, it ...

By Joiner, Thomas
mpn: 9780674025493, ean: 9780674025493, isbn: 0674025490,
In the wake of a suicide, the most troubling questions are invariably the most difficult to answer: How could we have known? What could we have done? And always, unremittingly: Why? Written by a clinical psychologist whose own life has been touched b...

By Taylor Francis
ean: 9781462532056, isbn: 1462532055,
Filling a tremendous need, this highly practical book adapts the proven techniques of dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) to treatment of multiproblem adolescents at highest risk for suicidal behavior and self-injury. The authors are master clinicians...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - bibliosmiles.com. All Rights Reserved.